Saturday, September 19, 2015

The Four Mini-Gospels

The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit (Is 11:2,3).
1  Fear of the Lord
2  Piety
3  Knowledge
4  Fortitude
5  Counsel 
6  Understanding
7  Wisdom 

The Seven Beatitudes (Mt 5: 1-9).  
1  Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.  
2  Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth. 
3  Blessed are they that mourn for they shall be comforted.
4  Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice for they shall have their fill.
5  Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy.
6  Blessed are the clean of heart for they shall see God.
7  Blessed are the peacemakers for they shall be called Children of God.

The Seven Petitions of the Lord's Prayer (Mt. 6: 9-13; Lk 11: 2-4). 
1  Our Father who art in heaven hallowed by thy name
2  Thy kingdom come,
3  Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven
4  Give us this day our daily bread
5  And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us
6  And lead us not into temptation
7  But deliver us from evil

The Seven Words of Our Lord on the Holy Cross.
1  "Father, forgive them for they know not what they do." (Lk 23:34)
2  "Amen, I say to thee: this day thou shalt be with me in paradise." (Lk 23:43)
3  “Woman, behold thy son.” To the disciple, “Behold your mother.” (Jn 19:26-27)
4  "My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?" (Mk 15:34)
5  “I thirst.” (Jn 19:28)
6  “It is consummated.”  (Jn 19:30)
7  “Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit.”  (Lk 23:46)

Here is the key to meditating upon them:  The four Mini-Gospels correspond to each other in the order in which they are numbered one through seven.  St. Augustine and St. Thomas established the correspondence for the first three Mini-Gospels, and Bishop Fulton Sheen incorporated the fourth.